You know the suburbs have got to you when…

WP_20131028_006

  1. You see a warm, sunny day in November and think, “It’s a great day to do yard work!”
  2. Your local social circles mainly include older people with kids or recently married couples secretly planning babies.
  3. You stare down fellow pedestrians at downtown, but happily wave at all passing cars on your morning walk because they just might be your neighbors. Even if they never wave back.
  4. A baby shower at your neighbor’s makes you go ‘awww’ instead of dreading sleepless nights.
  5. Costco sizes actually start making sense—no more quantity v/s guest room trade-off!
  6. You suddenly start seeing Home Depot and Lowes everywhere. After all, the top items on your Black Friday shopping list are a ladder and a lawn mower.
  7. You ‘plan’ a day in the city by packing some water bottles, snacks and extra shoes in the car.
  8. You’re always a little over-dressed when you go to the city, but you’re never wearing the ‘in thing’.
  9. You feel a bit of a fraud when you brag that you support small businesses—what else is there anyway?
  10. You prefer to call people home instead of meeting them in the city but find it mildly irritating when other suburban couples call you home, because if you’re driving, you might as well hit the city!

Welcome to suburbia.

PS: A lot has happened since I last blogged. Between helping my sister plan her wedding, getting stuck while vacationing in my own country because of  bureaucracy and moving to the suburbs for the very first time, I haven’t had time to blog because (sob) I actually had a life! Now that I’m back home and old habits are kicking in, it’s time to start writing all the blogs I’ve written in my head. Once a blogger, always a blogger. Keep checking back in!

About chaitanya

Since the day I realized that making two words rhyme was the first step to poetry (a step I've now thankfully outgrown) I've been writing. I've just been too shy to blog. But What is the Question? is a baby step toward exploring my blogability. I aim to post twice a month and I'll try my very best to not bore you, because I hate boring blogs too! Keep checking back in!

Posted on December 3, 2013, in Sunny & Funny and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked
    up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this
    site, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load
    properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting
    is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your placement in google
    and could damage your high quality score if advertising and
    marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my
    e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content.

    Make sure you update this again very soon.

    Like

    • Thanks for the heads up. I just have a plain vanilla wordpress.com blog, with pre-built plug ins, which I hope should be as simple as it gets. It’s good to know this, though, so I can investigate whats causing this. thanks, and do drop by again!

      Like

  2. #7 and #8 strike a chord. Yes, visiting “downtown” (Toronto, in our case) is an expedition that requires planning and pre-selection of parking lots..

    And when your world revolves around the lawn…

    http://sloword.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/in-which-our-hero-battles-the-green-monster/

    Like

    • Oh, the lawn, the one thing that has caused us to spend the few sunny days in Seattle being muddy and wet instead of sipping mojitos at a lake… Spring is frustration and joy rolled into one big, muddy ball. The author has nailed it there.

      Like

So, what do you think?

omqizen

A Vagabond in Exile

Confused Humanity

A futile attempt to put together my thoughts !

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Animal Culture

"I wanted to talk to the animals like Dr. Doolittle." - Jane Goodall

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons in Sparwood, Fernie, Elkford

Crazy Rantz

Irrational Confessions

