You know you’re a Seattle-ite when…

The Seattle-ite has been defined tons of times, but I couldn’t resist adding my two (or 15) cents to it.  Here’s my black and white definition of the Northwestern gray species of humans, most commonly found in urban watering holes.

You know you’re a Seattle-ite when…

  1. You think it doesn’t rain that much, and that the gray is overstated.
  2. You always keep an umbrella in the car, but never use it.
  3. You have done or are training for something superhuman, like STP, marathon or triathlon. 10k is for lightweights.
  4. You have tried at least a couple of yoga classes. Whether you liked it or not, you still think yogis are cool and spiritually elevated.
  5. You think the big hullabaloo over legalizing weed is so yesterday. Yawn.
  6. You think more highly of brands like North Face, Columbia and ASICS than Coach, Gucci and Louis Vuitton.
  7. Your idea of dressy includes chic clothes paired with stylish sneakers.
  8. Your idea of a fun weekend is a hike in the mountains followed by a picnic lunch… in all seasons.
  9. Your idea of a nice anniversary date involves your favorite brewery.
  10. You can’t remember the last time you had non-microbrew beer. In fact, you have at least one growler in your home bar, promptly refilled before any party.
  11. You start liking grunge. Listening to sad and angry music makes you happy, and happy music annoys you.
  12. Your gardening work never involves watering the garden. In fact, you can’t even find your garden hose.
  13. You don’t honk at the guy who stalled traffic by changing 4 lanes at the intersection. After that, you patiently let another driver cut in front of you.
  14. You enjoy the rare sunny, 80-degree days to the fullest. But after two days of that, you crave for the ‘perfect’ 70-degree weather, with some cloud cover.
  15. You go to Vancouver and Portland many times a year, but it’s been years since you stepped into the Eastside, because “it’s so far”!

Note:  To my best knowledge, this post comes from my own gray matter (pun intended), but then this is a popular topic and the Seattl-ite has only so many salient characteristics, so I wouldn’t be surprised if you had an eerie déjà vu about some of them… although I really hope you don’t!

About chaitanya

Since the day I realized that making two words rhyme was the first step to poetry (a step I've now thankfully outgrown) I've been writing. I've just been too shy to blog. But What is the Question? is a baby step toward exploring my blogability. I aim to post twice a month and I'll try my very best to not bore you, because I hate boring blogs too! Keep checking back in!

Posted on May 13, 2013, in Sunny & Funny and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. 😀 thanks for this awesome post now I can recognize a Seattle-ite in the crowd !! 🙂

    Like

  2. Lovely post! absolutely liked #11.

    Like

    • Thanks Rohit! Yes, No. 11 is true story from a diehard metalhead! Now I like grunge and doom metal and dark, melancholic metal.Anything that’s angry and melancholic is my cheer up song!

      Like

  3. Very interesting read. Enjoyed the pun

    Like

    • Thanks Easwar! Everything associated with Seattle seems to have ‘gray’ in it (most recently, grays anatomy and 50 shades of gray). But gray isn’t such a bad color after all.

      Like

  4. don’t know anything about Seattleites but guess, some of the characteristics are common in Indians as well, e.g., my brother keeps an umbrella in his car even though he doesn’t use it. i know people who believe that weed has been legalized long ago and there are Indians who think Yoga is cool because western world has embraced it.

    A cool read as always 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for reading, Debajyoti!
      It’s uncanny that you drew so many resemblances to Indians, you’d be amazed how easy it is to fit in at Seattle if you’re a modern Indian! I agree with you on yoga, it suddenly changed from being an old man’s exercise to a cool health fad back home because of the western world.
      Oh, a big difference between believing that weed is legalized and weed actually being legal is the extent of trouble you get into when your neighbors complain!

      Like

  5. Well, I was introduced to Seattle thanks to – “Sleepless in Seattle”… What are the kind of movies Seattlites watch?

    Like

    • Thanks for reading. When we moved to Seattle, we suffered through that movie as well and went and saw that housboat. Seattle-ites watch movies like any other people, but did you know Twilight was shot in an tiny town not far from here? And of course, Frasier and grays anatomy too

      Like

  6. I think it’s my kinda town. I think I should plan a trip there. BTW, what’s the best time to visit. Sneaker with dresses and north face is simply me. 😛

    Like

    • Seattle is a beautiful city- the best times to visit are july and august, the months where we get the most sun. Yep- the dress code is definitely more relaxed than the east coast!

      Like

  7. This is a newcomer list, not a seattleite list.

    Like

    • Jake, this post does talk about turning into/becoming a seattle-ite. This has been my journey the last couple of years, I’m sure the list will change as the clock clicks away!

      Like

So, what do you think?

omqizen

A Vagabond in Exile

Confused Humanity

A futile attempt to put together my thoughts !

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Animal Culture

"I wanted to talk to the animals like Dr. Doolittle." - Jane Goodall

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons in Sparwood, Fernie, Elkford

Crazy Rantz

Irrational Confessions

