Wrong Time for Mr. Right—My entry for the Get Published contest

The idea

What if happily ever after had an expiry date?

Megha led an almost perfect life. She had an almost perfect husband, almost perfect in-laws and an almost perfect world that she was perfectly happy in. Sure she was happy—Megha was a realist and knew when life was sufficiently fulfilling. She knew Ashok was a great catch and the little things that she secretly hoped would improve were just fuelled by the human desire to always want more. Besides, she wasn’t perfect herself, was she?

And then she ran into the perfect man. And suddenly, sufficient was not enough anymore.

Sameer was the best thing that happened to her, and the worst thing that happened to her. He made her feel beautiful like no one had ever done before. But while meeting her true soul-mate would have been exhilarating five years ago, now it was riddled with guilt, weighed down by reality and shackled by past commitments.

After a flurry of events make her a dishonest spouse, Megha wonders whether she should confess and salvage her marriage, or take the bold step toward the life she really wants. They don’t have children yet, but that doesn’t make it any easier. Their friends, his family and even her own family will despise her. But can she give up her dream and live a life of regret just to have their approval? She also wonders if she’s throwing away a good life for something that may be short-lived. Most importantly, she debates whether it is fair to break Ashok’s heart for no fault of his.

Whichever man she chooses, Megha wonders if her story will ever have a happily ever after. Her path seems to be strewn with heartbreaks—the decision to stay will break her heart while moving on will break the heart of someone she still loves.

But as she is still deciding, one of her lovers decides her fate without her consent.

What makes it real: This is inspired by some people in my life whose seemingly happy relationships fell apart because true love arrived too late. Much has been said about the person getting dumped and for a good reason too, but this story argues that walking away is difficult, too.

The characters are earthy, mature and genuine, but they are less than perfect in their approach to their problems and the choices they make. The story explores the agony of finding another true love when there is nothing really wrong with the love you already have, and dismay at the realization that you are the villain, the cheater and the heartbreaker. And that it was all your fault.

This is my entry for the HarperCollins–IndiBlogger Get Published contest, which is run with  inputs from Yashodhara Lal and HarperCollins  India.

Liked it? Please vote for me here and you could just read it in print! Thanks for reading! If the voting link didn’t work for any reason, let me know so I can fix it.
Visit blogadda.com to discover Indian blogs Blogarama - The Blog Directory

About chaitanya

Since the day I realized that making two words rhyme was the first step to poetry (a step I've now thankfully outgrown) I've been writing. I've just been too shy to blog. But What is the Question? is a baby step toward exploring my blogability. I aim to post twice a month and I'll try my very best to not bore you, because I hate boring blogs too! Keep checking back in!

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Food for Thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. If you were not able to vote, please inform me so I can fix the link. I’m still learning the ropes on the website!

    Like

  2. Good luck, Chaitanya. I voted. Your story sounds like it will have a lot of heart and I hope to read it. Thanks for stopping by my blog and voting for me as well!
    Kiran

    Like

    • Thanks Kiran, this was a topic very close to my heart and I’ve tried to do it justice.

      Thanks for reading my idea as well as voting!

      Like

  3. I loved the opening lines of your narration. I like when characters are real and in the shades of grey. It brings a lot of honesty and reality to the story. Good Luck 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Saru, this was a sensitive topic, and I’m glad I’ve started out on the right foot on this one.

      Don’t forget to vote 🙂

      Chaitanya

      Like

  4. Nice story you’ve weaved.
    Reciprocated your support as well.
    Good luck to you too madam 🙂

    Like

  5. Voted …nice narration and build up …sounds realistic

    Like

  6. Great Story line Chait..Totally tickled my curiosity. Makes me wanna read more. Good luck!

    Cheers
    Archie

    Like

  7. PS: Voted 🙂

    Like

  8. Loved it! Waiting to read more..:)

    Like

  9. I just loved the premise of your story. The plot sounds very real and the characters believable.

    Can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  10. wow!! very very real story this. Would love to know how it ends. Clicked that heart 🙂

    Like

So, what do you think?

omqizen

A Vagabond in Exile

Confused Humanity

A futile attempt to put together my thoughts !

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Animal Culture

"I wanted to talk to the animals like Dr. Doolittle." - Jane Goodall

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons

Elk Valley Guitar Lessons in Sparwood, Fernie, Elkford

Crazy Rantz

Irrational Confessions

